A Taste for the Renaissance: a dialogue between collections

A Taste for the Renaissance: a dialogue between collections

Upcoming exhibition

Discover the exceptional inventiveness and virtuosity of Renaissance art in the new exhibition of the Al Thani Collection at the Hôtel de la Marine.

  • Full price: €13

    Usual gratuities apply

  • General public

  • Gives access to the salons d'apparat and the loggia of the Hôtel de la Marine

  • book your ticket

PRESENTATION

The Al Thani Collection at the Hôtel de la Marine presents A Taste for the Renaissance: a dialogue between collections, the latest in its biannual series of temporary exhibitions.

The second in a series of three exhibitions held in collaboration with the Victoria and Albert Museum, London, this exhibition celebrates the extraordinary innovation, skill and craftsmanship of Renaissance art and explores its enduring appeal to collectors through the ages. 

Presenting masterpieces from the collections of the museum alongside those of The Al Thani Collection, the exhibition highlights the complex interconnections of the Renaissance world, a golden age of exploration and discovery which witnessed an exchange of materials and ideas across both Europe and distant lands. For the first time since its opening, all four galleries of The Al Thani Collection will be renewed. 

Coupled with a revived appreciation for the ideals of antiquity and aesthetics, wealthy patrons commissioned significant works of art which have since been prized by many of history's most notable collectors.

With more than 130 works of art on display, the exhibition comprises sculpture, metalwork, jewellery, glass, textiles, books, manuscripts, paintings, works on paper and exotica, many of which have never previously been shown in Paris. 

This includes works by Antico, Lucas Cranach the Younger, François Clouet, Vittore Crivelli, Donatello, Nicholas Hilliard, Hans Holbein the Younger and Leonardo da Vinci, together with treasures and objets d'art created for noble and royal patrons by many of the most accomplished artists of the period.

CURATOR

Exhibition curated by Dr Emma Edwards, Project Curator, Victoria and Albert Museum.

EXHIBITION ORGANIZED WITH

Exhibition highlights

See all related programming

Guided tour: A Taste for the Renaissance: a dialogue between collections

Visite commentée

Let yourself be guided through the exhibition presented by the Al Thani Collection and the state rooms!

Le Goût de la Renaissance. Un dialogue entre collections

Exposition à venir

Découvrez l’exceptionnelle inventivité et la virtuosité de l’art de la Renaissance dans la nouvelle exposition de la Collection Al Thani à l'Hôtel de la Marine.

  • Plein tarif : 13 €

    Gratuités habituelles applicables

  • Tout public

  • Donne accès aux salons d’apparat et à la loggia de l’Hôtel de la Marine

  • Réservez votre billet

PRÉSENTATION

Dans le cadre de sa programmation, au rythme de deux expositions temporaires par an, la Collection Al Thani à l’Hôtel de la Marine présente l’exposition « Le Goût de la Renaissance. Un dialogue entre collections ».

Deuxième exposition d'une série de trois organisées en collaboration avec le Victoria and Albert Museum, elle rend hommage à l’exceptionnelle inventivité ainsi qu’à la virtuosité de l’art de la Renaissance et s’intéresse à la fascination que cet art continue d’exercer depuis des siècles sur les collectionneurs. 

Rassemblant des chefs-d’œuvre issus du musée londonien et de la Collection Al Thani, elle met en lumière les interconnexions du monde à la Renaissance, époque où explorations et découvertes favorisent les échanges de matériaux et d’idées tant à travers l’Europe qu’en des contrées lointaines.  Pour la première fois depuis son ouverture, la présentation des quatre salles de la Collection Al Thani est intégralement renouvelée.

La pensée et l’esthétique héritées de l’Antiquité connaissent parallèlement un regain d’intérêt. Dans ce contexte propice, de riches mécènes commandent alors des œuvres d’art majeures, prisées depuis par les plus grands collectionneurs de l’histoire. 

Réunissant plus de 130 œuvres, l’exposition donne à voir sculptures, pièces d’orfèvrerie, bijoux, verres, textiles, livres, manuscrits, peintures, œuvres graphiques et objets exotiques qui, pour beaucoup, n’ont jamais été présentés à Paris. 

Se côtoieront ainsi des œuvres de l’Antico, Lucas Cranach le Jeune, François Clouet, Vittore Crivelli, Donatello, Nicholas Hilliard, Hans Holbein le Jeune, et Léonard de Vinci, ainsi que des objets d’art exceptionnels commandés aux artistes les plus talentueux de l’époque par des mécènes issus des familles royales ou de la haute aristocratie.

COMMISSARIAT

Emma Edwards, docteure en histoire de l’art, commissaire associée au Victoria and Albert Museum.

EXPOSITION ORGANISÉE PAR

Points forts de l'exposition

Visite-conférence : Le Goût de la Renaissance. Un dialogue entre collections

Visite commentée

Laissez-vous guider à travers l'exposition présentée par la Collection Al Thani et les salons d’apparat !